where to repire i3 REX

BMW i3 Forum

Help Support BMW i3 Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

williaminus

Newbie here. need advise where to repair I3 REX, rearended to a ford exploer. front hood, bumper, lights... smashed. Where should i go? a regular bodyshop or BMW service? Estimate from the regular one is about 8k. BMW service could be way over. Please kindly advise. I am in eastbay area.

Definitely go to BMW and get a quote.

Local repairer will have never repaired an i3 and probably will have zero experience of repairing CFRP vehicles.

If there is no structural damage, then maybe the local repairer can order the broken bits and paint and fit them.

If anything regarding the CFRP needs repair, I agree, it is almost certain that the independent shop will not either have the materials or the experience to fix the car properly. If needed, those bits cannot just be bolted on, and you cannot straighten a bent frame (unlikely to happen, it would break first).

I33t said:

Local repairer will have never repaired an i3 and probably will have zero experience of repairing CFRP vehicles.

If there is no structural damage, then maybe the local repairer can order the broken bits and paint and fit them.

BMW didn't want to give me a quote until they open the damaged hood. That way I will have to get a tow truck if I want to fix it somewhere else. Anyway, probably that's the only way. Do i have to compare between different BMW service sites?

jadnashuanh said:
If anything regarding the CFRP needs repair, I agree, it is almost certain that the independent shop will not either have the materials or the experience to fix the car properly. If needed, those bits cannot just be bolted on, and you cannot straighten a bent frame (unlikely to happen, it would break first).
thanks. but do i have to compare between different BMW services? or they will quote me the exactly same anyway? any experience?